Alien Visitors Beware

Donn James

Our daughter’s boyfriend is coming for a visit next week so I’ve been given a list of cleaning chores long enough to put Cinderella in a coma. The house is never too bad but now that we have “company” coming, I will be expected to use my toothbrush to clean the grout between the tiles on the kitchen floor for someone who grew up in Texas, probably on a dirt floor. I will also have to polish the wood floors to an extent that when one of the dogs runs in, they will slip and slide until they face-plant into a wall…and then I’ll have to clean the wall.
In truth, most of the things I will do are things we do every weekend just to stay on top of stuff but now instead of having the bathroom bowls just clean, I’ll have to have them clean enough to cook soup in. The hardest part of cleaning is just picking up all the cat and dog toys that litter every room in the house. This is the area in which they most resemble children in that they get everything out, play with it for three minutes and absolutely refuse to put anything away. Every week I put the big dog in charge of the other dogs and cats and I tell him I want everything back in the toy boxes by the time I get back from Costco and though it may surprise you, when I get home…nothing has been done. It’s like having five teenagers because the three dogs are pretending they didn’t hear me and the two cats are just holding me in disregard and gazing on me with contempt. So it’s clear I will not be getting a lot of cooperation from them but they did get together and agree not to shed for a week, so I won’t have to vacuum as often but after he leaves I’m sure the house will again look like a sheep-shearing station in Australia. By the way, the dogs are all afraid of the vacuum. Laurie believes it’s because of the noise but I’m convinced they run because they think I’m going to make them do it since every time I vacuum I pull up enough hair to knit a blanket for Wyoming.
Now, I want to make a good impression as this will be our first meeting so I expect I’ll be advised to wear something above and beyond t-shirts and boxers as, I’m told, it’s important to make a good first impression. That said, I’ve been the subject and object of more first impressions than most people and have usually found them to be almost universally wrong. I’ve actually had people tell me they didn’t like me when we first met and I just dismiss them as idiots because I can’t relate to that at all. There’s an old saying that “you don’t get a second chance to make a first impression” and that’s just blatantly false. Most of you don’t have that many friends so I’ve had lots of chances. I’m kind of like the wine that nobody wants to admit is just awful so they fall back on the banal cliché of, “it’s an acquired taste.” What that really means is that it’s crap but if you drink enough of it, you’ll forget how crappy it is. So now I think I’m going to start introducing myself by saying, “Hi, I’m Donn. I’m an acquired taste” so I won’t be setting the bar too high.

IMC has in excess of 2200 promotional products that will help you serve your client and we are adding new brand partners and products from our collections and our established retail brand partners. We believe IMC products speak for themselves and we can also show you ways to use and market them to your clients. Our products with decoration will have your customer coming back time and time again. Since introducing Waterford® Writing Instruments and MoMA years ago, IMC has presented more than 50 retail brands from global suppliers to enhance the selections you can offer your clients. We invite you to browse any of our 2,200+ products on the BRAND NEW IMC website to see items suitable for any occasion or event and pieces you can use to personalize your relationship with your clients. You can register as a distributor, track orders, upload art for virtual samples and even create your own flyers and catalogs of our products. We welcome you to 2017 and wish you the best and we hope you had time to stop and visit IMC at the PPAI Las Vegas show. The 2017 IMC catalog is available by request from the IMC website and is posted on the online services. We’ll continue to treat our clients professionally and get your orders to you…on time and on budget. You can also request our 2017 catalog using the catalog page of our website or download the PDF. We have products for every event and if your client has invented a holiday or celebration, we can also custom-make almost anything you can dream to make your client’s event all it can be. Take a look at our YouTube channel to see some videos showcasing popular products for some ideas on how to use them. We take our business relationship seriously and we want you to enjoy, give and receive our products and be able to use them every day. We look forward to working with you and we always have ideas to make our products work for your clients. The 2017 IMC catalog is also live and available virtually at Zoomcatalog.com and on our website if you’re tired of fighting paper catalogs and it can be viewed nicely with your laptop, iPad, tablet or phone. IMC is the recognized leader in the introduction of new retail brands to the promotional product industry and has multiple design awards from both ASI and PPAI. We have promotional products for every event, show, convention, corporate store and company program that will keep your client looking to you for new ideas. What do you say…are you receiving guests?

About IMC

IMC is a prime manufacturer and supplier of products to the promotional products industry. We sell only to qualified promotional products distributors. ASI supplier, PPAI supplier. Our lines include our own IMC lines and 26 branded lines.
This entry was posted in Brands, Business Gifts, Customer Service, Manufacturing, Promotional Products, Promotions, Retail Brands, Sales. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

