Am I Entitled to That?

Donn James

Donn James

I’m still having a hard time understanding why, as I get older I am still able to carry a healthy, carefree outlook while people 2-3 generations younger are busy copping an attitude and I’m getting a little tired of feeling like I’m interrupting your plan for world domination if I ask for “no foam.” Please stop trying to impress me with your belief that you are so much better than your job and just do your damned job. If you were that much better than your job, you wouldn’t be going into the back to check and see if you have that shoe in a size 9. If you were better at this job, you might get a better job and if you had a better job I’d have to remind someone else that, “yes, I want fries with that.”
I’m pretty good with people in the service industries. I call them all by name, not because I can remember names but because they’re all wearing a gaudy badge that says, “Mykal” or “Alysun” and I believe we have an implied partnership in whatever arena we are dealing so I put aside my belief that your parents are idiots. What I bring to the party is the ability to treat you like a human being and all I ask of you is to do…your damned job. My part is easy because I find it rewarding and enjoyable to be nice; after all, courtesy costs you nothing, so I fail to see the drama or angst you bring to the table so, when I say, “dressing on the side” you shouldn’t start to cry. It shouldn’t be that hard. If I tell you what flavor of ice cream I want, all I expect of you is to scoop it out without breaking the damned cone. And just because I’m nice it doesn’t mean I want to hear your life story and I certainly don’t want to read the first draft of your screenplay about crazed dachshunds taking over the world. If you’re just working here until you finish the rigorous curriculum which will culminate with the long-sought degree in nail painting, please feel free not to share that with me.
I’m certainly not here to paint a glowing picture of the good old days because there was plenty wrong with them as well but I do believe we’ve reached the time when entitlement is taking its toll on society. This is really the first generation trying to grow up when everyone always made the team and everybody played, without regard for talent and, as a result, they can’t grow up because so far nobody has let them. This is society’s reward since we stopped keeping score and somebody invented the damned participation trophy. Now they are in what we laughingly call the ‘real world’ where not everyone gets a job, makes the team, gets into the good school and nobody has prepared them for this. It is a shock to many parents when their child goes into high school and they realize not everybody makes the team just because they want to. Your son who’s 5’4” and 93 pounds doesn’t get to split time at quarterback just because he’s a whiz at Madden 2015 on his PSwhatever. If your daughter doesn’t know what a rook does, don’t expect her to make the chess team. I’d kind of like to try open-heart surgery but I’m not buying scrubs at the Salvation Army thrift store and walking into the Mayo Clinic.
Hopefully, this generation will promptly get over themselves and realize they revolve around the world, not the other way around and I’ll get the answer to the often asked question, “Does that cost extra?”

It’s not really that different in business. IMC knows how to make and decorate our promotional products and, for 2016, we have new products from our collections and 6 new retail brands for the industry. We believe IMC products speak for themselves and we can also show you ways to use and market them to your clients. The 2016 IMC catalog is available by request from the IMC website and will be posted on the online services. We’ll continue to treat our clients professionally and get your orders to you…on time and on budget. If you’re curious about What's New?click on the tab and see. You can also get on the distribution list for our 2016 catalog using the catalog page of our website. We have new items in the IMC Collections and several new retail brands debuting in 2016. We have products for every event and if your client has invented a holiday or celebration, we can also custom-make almost anything you can dream to make your client’s event all it can be. Take a look at our YouTube channel to see some videos showcasing popular products for some ideas on how to use them. We take our business relationship seriously and we want you to enjoy, give and receive our products and be able to use them every day. We look forward to working with you and we always have ideas to make our products work for your clients. The 2016 IMC catalog is also live and available virtually at Zoomcatalog.com if you’re tired of fighting paper catalogs. It can be viewed nicely with your laptop, iPad, tablet or phone. IMC is the recognized leader in the introduction of new retail brands to the promotional product industry and has multiple design awards from both ASI and PPAI. Since introducing Waterford® Writing Instruments and MoMA years ago, IMC has presented more than 48 retail brands from global suppliers to enhance the selections you can offer your clients. This year we are proud to present Just Mobile, Block, Magisso, PlayableART, Molla Space and Airplane Pockets to the promotional products industry. We invite you to browse any of our 2,300+ products on the IMC website to see items suitable for any occasion or event and pieces you can use to personalize your relationship with your clients. We have promotional products for every event, show, convention, corporate store and company program that will keep your client looking to you for new ideas. What do you think? Let us know with a comment here or on Facebook or TwitterIMC wants to know…did you want it extra hot?

About IMC

IMC is a prime manufacturer and supplier of products to the promotional products industry. We sell only to qualified promotional products distributors. ASI supplier, PPAI supplier. Our lines include our own IMC lines and 26 branded lines.
This entry was posted in Brands, Business Gifts, Customer Service, Manufacturing, Promotional Products, Promotions, Retail Brands, Sales. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

