Politically Correct or Die

Donn James

Donn James

I was on a flight last week and I got home safely…thanks for asking, although something unusual happened on the flight beyond just the stewardesses trying to be funny when they’re not funny. It’s not funny when they say, “In the event our flight becomes a cruise…” Now, I’ve spent about the last 50 years trying to be politically correct and I try to remember to call them flight attendants even while my brain is screaming…WAITRESS! That said, I’m probably like the rest of you and I find myself being politically correct right up until the time it affects me.
After the plane was completely boarded, which meant I was locked in a cigar tube with 209 other people, most of whom I wouldn’t have liked anyway, we were informed one of the passengers had a severe nut allergy and the flight would not be serving peanuts, only pretzels because even the scent of peanuts could lead to tragedy. So 209 of us can’t have a peanut because somebody is being a big baby and I realized at that point…now I really want some peanuts. We were further asked that if we brought something with peanuts, not to open or eat it during the flight. So now I’m thinking they’ve turned my Snickers bar into a deadly weapon. I thought I was lucky that TSA didn’t confiscate it and toss it into the trash when I went through security anyway so it wasn’t that big of a deal. I was actually tempted to scatter my Reese’s Pieces down the aisle to see if I could get someone to have a seizure. I thought about sneaking my Snickers into the bathroom but I was afraid there might be some sort of peanut alarm in there and I would be arrested when we landed and charged with “death by peanut” and I didn’t want to chance it. While I don’t want to mention the airline, it’s two of the directions Kanye didn’t name his kid. They also didn’t identify the aggrieved passenger, probably for fear we would band together and kill him or her. While I can go 3 hours without eating a peanut and it seemed like a small enough thing to do, I probably wouldn’t have been all that upset had someone decided to kill the culprit but it does beg the question, “When does someone else’s problem cross the line to inconvenience others?” Couldn’t the guy just wear a mask? I survived my peanut-free flight but did I do so just because one guy was afraid to stab himself in the thigh with an epi-pen?
I have friends who are lactose-intolerant so they don’t eat cheese or dairy. They adjust, they adapt and they eat fake cheese and drink fake milk. At some point wouldn’t you rather have the guy consider Amtrak if only because you can open the windows? If you can’t go to the zoo because of peanut dust in the air around the elephants, well then, don’t go to the zoo. If you’re sitting in Nebraska and want to see the Eiffel Tower, if you’re allergic to peanuts, you should consider driving to New York and catching a boat.
While it may seem I’m less than sympathetic, I really am a big fan of the ADA and have always been in favor of reasonable accommodations and anyway, I’d rather walk up a ramp than take the stairs so I feel I’m doing my part. I do feel calling a peanut allergy a disability is a bit of a stretch, kind of like calling Adam Sandler an actor, but if you know you’re going to be confined inside an aluminum tube 5 miles above the earth, wouldn’t you think about planning ahead. While it’s not our fault you can’t eat peanuts, you already know enough to stay away from Thai restaurants because they believe the peanut is a vegetable.

It’s not really that different in business. All of our IMC items are peanut-free but we show you  ways to use and market them on our Facebook page and we offer them in many categories. IMC hopes you’re enjoying our new retail brands and products for the industry. With summer in bloom, our new designer sunglasses collection from Bobby Jones, Carmen Marc Valvo and Michael Stars might be just what you need. And we’ll continue to treat our customers professionally and get your orders to you…on time and on budget. If you’re curious about What's New?click on the tab and see. You can thumb through our 2015 catalog from category to category and find many products that will accent your client’s event and we’ll get you what you want even if we have some suggestions on how to make it more rewarding. Go to the Catalog page of the IMC website and put your order in and we’ll get them to you. Let us know if you’d like samples. We want to help you make sense of your client’s request so we offer choices between new products and classic items so they can make presentations memorable. And IMC cares that your order is correct so we keep lots of products around that are suitable for your events but we’ll let you decide what works best for you and jump in to help you with decisions about products and decorations. And if your client has invented a holiday or celebration, we can also custom-make almost anything you can dream to make your client’s event all it can be. Take a look at our YouTube channel to see some videos showcasing popular products for some ideas on how to use them. We take our business relationship seriously and we want you to enjoy, give and receive our products and be able to use them every day. We look forward to working with you and we always have ideas to make our products work for your clients. The 2015 IMC catalog is live and available virtually at Zoomcatalog.com if you’re tired of fighting paper catalogs. It can be viewed nicely with your laptop, iPad, tablet or phone. IMC is the recognized leader in the introduction of new retail brands to the promotional product industry and has multiple design awards from both ASI and PPAI. Since introducing Waterford® Writing Instruments and MoMA years ago, IMC has presented more than 48 retail brands from global suppliers to enhance the selections you can offer your clients. See great ideas and items from Troika, Umbra, Nina Ricci and Bluetech. We invite you to browse any of our 2,300+ products on the IMC website to see items suitable for any occasion or event and pieces you can use to personalize your relationship with your clients. We have promotional products for every event, show, convention, corporate store and company program that will keep your client looking to you for new ideas. What do you think? Let us know with a comment here or on Facebook or TwitterIMC wants to know…is that rash normal?

 

About IMC

IMC is a prime manufacturer and supplier of products to the promotional products industry. We sell only to qualified promotional products distributors. ASI supplier, PPAI supplier. Our lines include our own IMC lines and 26 branded lines.
This entry was posted in Brands, Business Gifts, Customer Service, Manufacturing, Promotional Products, Promotions, Retail Brands, Sales. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

