What Sounds Good to You?

Donn James

Donn James

As I watched co-workers walking through the offices this morning chewing on the Friday doughnuts and bagels, it gave me pause to consider the realm of dietary restrictions.  While a doughnut might not make the Surgeon General’s food pyramid, it’s not going to kill you…unless you forget to chew it.  And lately we seem to be focusing on the minutiae and not seeing the bigger picture.  As an athlete growing up, I ate everything without a thought to the reaction my body might have to what I was ingesting because the young do not think about that and I figured I was burning it off anyway.  Then, my caloric intake at the training table meal rose faster than the national debt, but now the only exercise I get is tapping the screen on my iPad to turn to the next page of my book, so it’s a little harder to burn off the cow I just had for dinner.
It’s difficult to pinpoint the beginning of dietary restrictions but I’m pretty sure the Neanderthals didn’t invent the saying, “A moment on the lips, a lifetime on the hips.”  And I’m just as sure they didn’t sit around the fire, after they invented it, discussing whether eggs might be good or bad for you.  45,000 years later and we still can’t figure that out.  Scholars generally point to the Bible as the first book with diet restrictions…that whole chewing cud, cloven hoof thing which meant that all the pigs and camels could breathe a sigh of relief.  Thankfully for us, shortly thereafter someone on a farm in Arkansas had a meth lab blow up, thereby inventing BBQ.  Other religions quickly got into the act, not wanting their constituents to eat beef and another actually wants you to be vegetarian.  In fact, that’s why they invented tofu and told their people it tasted just like chicken.  Tofu in English means…the soy milk is turning sour so let’s turn it into something we can sell.
Even as age makes a run at me, I am currently under no dietary restrictions.  I mean my doctor always tells me what I shouldn’t eat but he always smells like smoke and I’m certain that stain on his tie is ranch dressing so why should I take him seriously.  He just wants to keep me alive because I have a co-pay.  I’m more likely to change doctors than change diets.
I have some empathy for people unable to eat certain things due to afflictions or allergies so I don’t walk around waving cheese or peanuts in their faces but if you consciously choose not to eat something on a whim or bowing to the latest fad, count me out because I’m not looking to join a cult.  I have a friend who’s lactose intolerant but it’s such a friendly sounding ailment it’s hard to take it seriously.  But if you decide you want to be gluten-free, just slide that plate of pancakes over to me and if you’ve decided not to eat meat because they are equal to people, don’t come crying to me when 8 zillion hamsters take over the world.
Most frustrating of all is that there are businesses that prey on the weak, possibly infirm or those vainly in search of the Fountain of Youth.  Have you been in a GNC store?  Apparently their whole concept is to convince you what a mess you are and how you need everything in the store just to survive.  I’m sorry but my shopping list doesn’t include “Deer Antler Velvet Extract” and I don’t even know what “Turmeric Curcumin” is and if I can’t live without “Beyond Raw Ravage” in fruit punch flavor, do me a favor and kill me now.

It’s not really that different in business.  IMC will work side by side with you and we’ll keep it together and we won’t try and sell you something you don’t want.  And whatever you want will be right and on time because we have processes in place to assemble your order so you won’t have to sweat it.  We have thousands of useful products for many programs, events and holidays during the year so you can always find the perfect promotion for any season.  We have calendars so we know when these holidays are celebrated so we make sure to have stock so we can fill your order.  Even if your client has invented a holiday or celebration, we can also custom-make almost anything you can dream to make your client’s event all it can be.  And we know you want exactly what you’ve ordered so we do everything we can to learn that order and help you look good to your customers.  Take a look at our YouTube channel to see some videos showcasing popular products for some ideas on how to use them.  We take our business relationship seriously and we want you to enjoy, give and receive our products and be able to use them every day.  We look forward to working with you and we always have ideas to make our products work for your clients.  You can also request our 2014 catalog on the Catalog page of our website and order some.  And all of our new items are visible in theWhat's New?section of our website.  The 2014 IMC catalog is also available virtually at Zoomcatalog.com if you’re tired of fighting paper catalogs.  It can be viewed nicely with your laptop, iPad, tablet or phone.  IMC is the recognized leader in the introduction of new retail brands to the promotional product industry and has multiple design awards from both ASI and PPAI.  Since introducing Waterford® Writing Instruments and MoMA years ago, IMC has presented more than 40 retail brands from global suppliers to enhance the selections you can offer your clients.  See great ideas and items from Troika, Ten Design, Umbraand Blackpen.  We invite you to browse any of our 2,500+ products on the IMC website to see items suitable for any occasion or event and pieces you can use to personalize your relationship with your clients.  We have promotional products for every event, show, convention, corporate store and company program that will keep your client looking to you for new ideas.  What do you think?  Let us know with a comment here or on Facebook or TwitterIMC wants to know…is there anything you can’t eat?

About IMC

IMC is a prime manufacturer and supplier of products to the promotional products industry. We sell only to qualified promotional products distributors. ASI supplier, PPAI supplier. Our lines include our own IMC lines and 26 branded lines.
This entry was posted in Business Gifts, Customer Service, Manufacturing, Promotional Products, Promotions, Retail Brands, Sales, Waterford Pens. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

