Is 2014 Over Yet?

Donn James

Donn James

We’ve celebrated Christmas and the New Year and even though I’ve endured another birthday, I’m still in a pretty good mood.  We all know that won’t last but owing to my generous nature, I had a momentary lapse in judgment and I agreed to go to Costco yesterday.  I only needed two things and I wrote them down so I wouldn’t forget.  As it was I remembered I needed to buy stamps when I checked out but since I didn’t write it down, I forgot it by the time I got to the check-out line.  But I’m not going back.  On January 2nd, it was like being in the mosh pit at a Grateful Dead concert.
The trip began with finally finding a parking space at least in the same time zone. Then I hitchhiked to the entrance where I had to fight off some geezer with a cane for a shopping cart.  I considered myself lucky that I didn’t have to return anything because that line stretched into the next zip code.  Some of you may consider it Karma because I smugly walked past that line as I entered the store.  I deftly avoided the guys trying to sell me satellite TV and new cellular plans as I wound my way to the paper towels.  Even the main lanes were crowded so we all moved as if we were in line to view a dead dignitary lying in state.  I’m moving about as fast as one of those terracotta warriors in China and we know they aren’t going anywhere quickly.  Just when I was finally going faster than the speed of smell, I came to the food section where I encountered numerous blockages due to the free lunch crowd leaving their carts in the middle of the aisle as they stepped away to mooch whatever piece of cheese, slice of sausage or spoonful of yogurt that was being doled out by the “food technicians” replete with hairnets and face masks.  I finally made it to the pallets in the back that held the 12-packs of Kleenex and paper towels I needed.  Once I had them, I inhaled deeply, girded my loins and headed for the check-out lines where the lines proved as long as the return line I passed at the entrance…hence the Karma.  While waiting interminably and inching ever closer to the register I did what everyone else was doing…I played games on my phone…specifically Angry Birds to match my mood.  In times like these you usually get mad because they don’t have an express lane but as you look at the carts around you, you question what the number would be.  30 items or less?  47 items or less?  I was 2 away from check-out when they hit me with the killing blow…they swapped out checkers and tills.  NOOOO!! Not now.  While watching them count cash and swapping tills I realized I had gone from the quick guy to someone who didn’t seem comfortable with US currency or the bar code gun.  I will say that finally making it through check-out significantly improved my general outlook on life and as I left the store I was able to, once again, laugh at all the people in the return line.
I need to mention one other item with regard to Costco.  I mentioned having a birthday and I wonder if I’m approaching the point when I see the quantity buys in a different light so if anyone older than I would like to shed some light on it, I’d be moderately appreciative.  At this point in time since you have to buy so much, we all look at the expiration date and think…Are we going to use all this before it expires?  Am I reaching the point where I have to think…Am I going to use all this before I expire?  I don’t want to have to add a 55-gallon drum of tomato sauce to my will and I certainly don’t want my family fighting over a 6-pound box of Cocoa Puffs.

It’s not really that different in business.  Happy New Year everyone!!  We value our business relationships and as 2014 makes its entrance, IMC has also updated its website with new products and brands.  And we’ll make whatever amount you want.  We take our business relationship seriously and we want you to enjoy, give and receive our products and be able to use them every day.  We wish the best for you and yours and look forward to working with you in 2014.  Our 2014 catalog has been completed so go to the Catalog page on our website and order some.  All new items are visible in theWhat's New?  section of our website.  The 2014 IMC catalog has also gone virtual on Zoomcatalog.com if you’re tired of fighting paper catalogs.  It can be viewed nicely with your laptop, iPad, tablet or phone.  IMC is the recognized leader in the introduction of new retail brands to the promotional product industry and has multiple design awards from both ASI and PPAI.  Since introducing Waterford® Writing Instruments and MoMA years ago, IMC has presented more than 38 retail brands from global suppliers to enhance the selections you can offer your clients.  We have new items from Filter2Go, Ten Design®, Stewart/Stand®, Trendex and Presto! for 2014.  We invite you to browse any of our 2,500+ products on the IMC website to see items suitable for any occasion or event and pieces you can use to personalize your relationship with your clients.  We have promotional products for every event, show, convention, corporate store and company program that will keep your client looking to you for new ideas.  What do you think?  Let us know with a comment here or on Facebook or Twitter.  IMC wants to know…what do you need returned?

About IMC

IMC is a prime manufacturer and supplier of products to the promotional products industry. We sell only to qualified promotional products distributors. ASI supplier, PPAI supplier. Our lines include our own IMC lines and 26 branded lines.
This entry was posted in Business Gifts, Customer Service, Promotional Products, Promotions, Retail Brands, Sales, Waterford Pens. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

