Reunited and It Feels So Good

Donn James

Donn James

Just in case you’re wondering, I’m not a big fan of family reunions because, these days, too often I’m the oldest person in the room so I can’t help but feel well…I’ll be the next to go.  So why would anyone assume I’m a fan of school reunions?  And why do they always schedule school reunions in the summer?  It’s not like any of us are still in school and we have to wait until summer vacation.  I’m not doing anything in October.  And when did they start combining sets of years for reunions?  Because of this trend to bracket sets of years into one reunion, I’m being solicited to go to my high school and college reunions in the same year.  I’m not sure (which means I can’t remember) when they began combining years at reunions but it’s clear they started doing it for good reason.  I’m sure they’re looking for a good turnout but when 20, 30, or more years have passed, you experience an attrition which Webster describes as “a natural reduction in membership as through death.” But I don’t think attendance will suffer because those of us still on this side of the grass need to bring someone along just to help cut our food.
For my high school reunion, I’d like it just to be my year on the off chance I’d remember someone but then it would probably just be me and the two guys from visual aids who ran the projector.  If I could only remember where I put my pocket protector, I’d fit right in.  But with multiple years, I’m going to have to remember people I didn’t even know and I already can’t remember any of the people I’m supposed to know.  Driving to the office this morning has already faded from memory; how am I supposed to remember people I haven’t seen in decades, most of whom I didn’t know in the first place?  All those John Deere caps look the same to me.  If I recognize anyone, I’ll feel like I just found Waldo.  Like everyone I suppose, I remember the odd (sober) detail, I remember some of the big games and being lucky to be alive at times but I don’t remember much more of high school and college.  I remember the local bar was easier to find than my Biology lab.  Drink a beer or dissect a frog?  Well, one has hops and one can’t hop anymore.  Final score:  beer glass 1, scalpel 0.  I think I learned that in Math.
One of the reunions…see, I can’t even remember which one, is in Dallas in August.  Now, I like Texas but I don’t vacation there in AUGUST because well…I don’t need to fry anything on a sidewalk.  Wasn’t Dallas in August the setting for the 5th circle of hell in Dante’s Inferno?  I’d rather be picking up trash in an orange jumpsuit by the side of the freeway in Palmdale than be in Dallas in August.  I’m told they picked Dallas because it is “centrally located” but that’s like seeing a friend on the other side of a crocodile infested river and shouting, “I’ll meet you in the middle.”
I just remembered, because I still have occasional moments of clarity, the other reunion is in Washington, where it will be raining because well, it’s Washington.  But the Mensa members planning the reunion have scheduled alumni games on the odd chance it might only be drizzling, which passes for sunshine up there.  Ambulances will be on sight with oxygen and nitroglycerin tablets but I’m not sure you can splint a broken hip.  I’m hoping there’s a prize for the oldest team member attending because if I swing a bat anymore, somebody turned on my WII, and the only time I kick a ball, it’s just to give the dog something to chase.
In any case, I may go to either or both reunions because they do one thing right.  They give out name tags, which I’ll need…just so I can remember who I am.  If I go missing you’ll find me in a hotel ballroom somewhere, surrounded by people I’m supposed to know but I’ll be the one thinking, “I know I’m here for a reason.  Oh yeah, free cheese.”

It’s not really that different in business.  Everyone wants to be remembered for good reasons and IMC will remember you and your orders and we want you to remember us when you’re looking for items for your client stores and events.  IMC has thousands of products that will work for almost any event or occasion.  And we know your clients test you with price, delivery and detailed logos so we know what we can do with our products and how you can use or market them.  We also remember our products are here to support your client’s event and we’ll be honest about what we can do in terms of pricing, decoration and shipping so you can make your customer happy.  IMC has thousands of products to make you look and feel good and we campaign to continuously bring new brands and decorating options to the promotional product industry.  These brands and options are developed with an eye toward the latest trends so we can continue to offer a wide realm of choices and options in both traditional and unusual promotional product categories.  And we deal with some great distributors who have seen our finished product and are sharp enough to bring these new and exciting products to their clients.  So we are always happy to offer ideas, suggestions and case histories to help you present the items to your client.  IMC is a recognized leader in the introduction of new retail brands to the promotional product industry and has multiple design awards from both ASI and PPAI.  Our in-house family of decorators will turn your selection into a winner that will enhance your end-user’s event or ceremony.  And IMC will take your order, deliver it on time, and on budget.  We treat every order with a practiced professionalism so the things that happen will be what you expect from an award-winning supplier.  As well as continuously expanding the available product in our 6 Collections, IMC continues our industry-leading practice of bringing new retail brands to the promotional products industry.  Since introducing Waterford® Writing Instruments and MoMA years ago, IMC has presented more than 30 retail brands from global suppliers to enhance the selections you can offer your clients.  These include world renowned designers like Blunt and the unique offerings from Finelife and Umbra.  And take a look at our newest retail brand Filter2Go because it’s great for summer promotions.  We invite you to browse any of our 2,450+ products on the NEW IMC website to see items suitable for any occasion or event and pieces you can use to personalize your relationship with your clients.  We have promotional products for every event, show, convention, corporate store and company program that will keep your client looking to you for new ideas.  What do you think?  Let us know with a comment here or on Facebook or Twitter.  IMC wants to know…do you remember me?

About IMC

IMC is a prime manufacturer and supplier of products to the promotional products industry. We sell only to qualified promotional products distributors. ASI supplier, PPAI supplier. Our lines include our own IMC lines and 26 branded lines.
This entry was posted in Promotional Products. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

