Is CXHVZ a Word?

Donn James

Donn James

I used the recent holiday weekend to get out of town and while I had every intention of relaxing, bettering myself and being productive, I found myself doing what everyone else does when they have spare time…I played games on my iPad.  I guess I just figured that Rand’s Atlas Shrugged wasn’t going anywhere.  The bigger issue is that I was only mildly embarrassed as I stood at the precipice of the Grand Canyon trying to find a word when I only had 6 vowels and a Y.  When I should have been enthralled as I faced a wonder of the world, something miraculously fashioned by sun and water over millions of years, something that has drawn ooohs and ahhhs from tourists since we invented the covered wagon…all I wondered was if oieyau was a word.  I suppose as a writer and editor I naturally gravitate to word games but I’m not above believing it’s because I think that other kinds of computer games are stupid.  My rationale is that at least with word games you have to know some words…duhh.  You’re not going to catch me dropping a mad sparrow into a slingshot thinking I can knock down a building or drawing a pickle with my finger on the screen just so I can have a friend guess, “Is that a map of Chile?”  These days, in order I think to get more people playing they have added “with friends” so now you have Words with Friends and Scramble with Friends but I have trouble playing with friends because frankly, they’re not very good losers.  So I play against anonymous people from around the globe and often finish a turn before I retire for the night only to have someone respond the next day, making me think I’m playing against some nanny in Reykjavik on her way to bed.  Now, while most of the other games are, at best, mindless…really, what do I care that you’ve garnered enough credits to add a pig sty to your imaginary farm…but these word games seem to be fostering a generation of cheaters.  They call it strategy but let’s take a closer look.  First of all so we’re all clear, Words is nothing more than online Scrabble and Scramble is just this generation’s version of a word search puzzle.  In Scramble, for a price, you can freeze the screen to get extra time, get hints, shuffle the letters to make better words and even see words you have missed.  Words is even worse as you have no time limit so you can just go to Google and ask for words that contain those pesky letters like X, Q & J.  And it accepts words heretofore only spoken by inbred Klingons.  Seriously, you can drop almost any 5 consonants in a row and get credit for the word.  I think it’s important to remind people that just because you say dumb things like “cray-cray” doesn’t mean they are words.  Words even has an app that lets you see your opponent’s letters.  How is that not cheating?  I’m pretty sure I’d win more money at poker if the other players would let me see their cards.  As a purist, I refuse to use these “cheats” because I have a code I embrace and so I always ask myself, “What would Alex Trebek do?”

It’s not really that different in business.  We like to hear from our friends but we’re not going to play games with you.  We realize our products are here to support your event and while our options may seem unlimited, we will only do what we can in terms of pricing, decoration and shipping.  At IMC, our products are here to showcase your client’s event and we present items we believe would enhance the event.  As a distributor you may like different items and your client may have other ideas as well. For these reasons, IMC is continuously bringing new brands and decorating options to the promotional product industry.  These brands and options are developed with an eye toward the latest trends so we can continue to offer a wide realm of choices and options in both traditional and unusual promotional product categories.  And we deal with some great distributors who have seen our finished product and are sharp enough to bring these new and exciting products to their clients.  So we are always happy to offer ideas, suggestions and case histories to help you present the items to your client.    IMC is a recognized leader in the introduction of new retail brands to the promotional product industry and has multiple design awards from both ASI and PPAI.  Our in-house family of decorators will turn your selection into a winner that will enhance your end-user’s event or ceremony.  And IMC will take your order, deliver it on time, and on budget.  We treat every order with a practiced professionalism so the things that happen will be what you expect from an award-winning supplier.  As well as continuously expanding the product available in our 6 Collections, IMC continues our industry-leading practice of bringing new retail brands to the promotional products industry.  Since introducing Waterford® Writing Instruments and MoMA years ago, IMC has presented more than 30 retail brands from global suppliers to enhance the selections you can offer your clients.  These include world renowned designers like the Nina Ricci and the unique offerings from Orangebag and Leuchtturm.  We invite you to browse any of our 2,450+ products on the NEW IMC website to see items suitable for any occasion or event and pieces you can use to personalize your relationship with your clients.  We have promotional products for award shows, conventions, events, corporate stores and company programs that will keep your client looking to you for new ideas.  What do you think?  Let us know with a comment here or on Facebook or Twitter.  IMC wants to know…do you play any games?

About IMC

IMC is a prime manufacturer and supplier of products to the promotional products industry. We sell only to qualified promotional products distributors. ASI supplier, PPAI supplier. Our lines include our own IMC lines and 26 branded lines.
This entry was posted in Business Gifts, Customer Service, Promotional Products, Promotions, Retail Brands, Sales, Travel, Waterford Pens. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

