We Are Family…

Donn James

Donn James

Well, it’s been a week since the world ended and I’ve got to say…I’m feeling pretty good.  I’m guessing the millions of us who were raised on the old adage, “If you can’t trust the Maya, who can you trust?” were lied to.  The one thing we know for sure is that 2012 is ending Monday and this marks the end of a holiday season and you can finally rid yourselves of extended family of whom you’ve grown woefully tired.  They say this time of year is for family and I believe it’s because the weather is usually depressing so why not compound the problem by adding family to the mix.  Families are a lot like Vegas…it’s OK for a couple of days but nobody wants to live there.  If you’re anything like me you’d be happiest if your family lived in the Far East because it’s tomorrow there and that’s as far away as they can be without actually leaving the planet.  That’s apparently not an option…yet.  One of my familial obligations this time of year is to watch my niece perform in The Nutcracker ballet at the Civic Center with her dance studio.  It seems like we’ve done this forever but since she’s only 13, it’s probably only been the last 7-8 years…it still feels like forever because the story never changes.  We have good seats this year but my focus is on locating the nearest exit in case I have a chance to fake a coughing spasm and bolt.  I’m seated directly above an open space that is occupied by a woman in a wheelchair and I’m thinking…if she could just have a stroke, I could wheel us both to freedom.  Lest you think me cruel, let me tell you she had an oxygen tank strapped to the back of her wheelchair that was so massive I had to move my head to see around it, so I figured she was already on borrowed time.  I’m sitting here staring at a “Keep Away from Flame” sticker and I’m thinking…maybe she’ll fire up a Marlboro and put us all out of our misery.  I sneaked a look at her during the intermission and it looked like she started smoking about the time Grant and Lee left Appomattox.  Her breathing sounded like someone was filling a hot air balloon and everyone in our section was straining just to hear the music.  Well, not me because like I said, I’ve heard it before.    Anyway, until escape was possible, my plan was to quietly nod off until intermission but every time my head hit my chest, Grandpa next to me elbowed me in the ribs to bring me back to consciousness.  Now, he’s seen his granddaughter perform every year just like I have, but his back was hurting so he couldn’t fall asleep and I think he was just being mean.  My niece is now tall, statuesque and en pointe so she’s able to stay on her feet (toes) but there are a couple of scenes filled with 5-year olds who can’t remember which move to make or way to go and their job is apparently to provide comic relief for everyone but their own parents.  Our favorite is when they’re all dressed like mice and one of them steps on the tail of the one in front of them and that child gets jerked back like a dog that abruptly reached the end of its leash.  Good times.

It’s not really that different in business.  At IMC, we try and treat you like family we like and we stay grounded in reality, continuously bringing new brands, options to the promotional product industry and these brands and options are developed with an eye toward the latest trends so we can continue to offer a wide realm of choices and options in both traditional and unusual promotional product categories.  And we deal with some great distributors sharp enough and on their toes to bring these new and exciting products to their clients.  Our in-house family of decorators will turn your selection into a showcase that will enhance your end-user’s event.  And IMC will take your order, deliver it on time, and on budget.  We treat every order with a practiced professionalism so you won’t be left hanging because the things that happen will be what you expect from an award-winning supplier.  And we continue to expand our options with more from the IMC Collections and domestic and international brands to better supply you with what you and your clients need.  IMC continues our industry-leading practice of bringing new retail brands to the promotional products industry and we will continue that practice in 2013.  Since introducing Waterford® Writing Instruments and MoMA years ago, IMC has presented more than 30 retail brands from global suppliers to enhance the selections you can offer your clients.  These include world renowned designers like Leuchtturm and the unique offerings from MOVA and Z WindUps.  We invite you to browse any of our 2,450+ products on the NEW IMC website to see items suitable for any occasion or event and pieces you can use to personalize your relationship with your clients.  We have promotional products for conventions, events, corporate stores and company programs that will keep your client looking to you for new ideas.  And we’re always happy to offer ideas and provide case histories.  So whatever your party, cause, event or launch, IMC has ideas and advice that will promote and support your client.  We can make you well with 6 IMC collections and 25 retail brands as we have unique and quality products for all occasions and events.  What do you think?  Let us know with a comment here or on Facebook or Twitter.  IMC wants to know if you enjoy the ballet.

About IMC

IMC is a prime manufacturer and supplier of products to the promotional products industry. We sell only to qualified promotional products distributors. ASI supplier, PPAI supplier. Our lines include our own IMC lines and 26 branded lines.
This entry was posted in Business Gifts, Customer Service, Promotional Products, Promotions, Retail Brands, Sales, Waterford Pens. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

