What Choice Do I Have?

Donn James

While options and choices are a nice touch, I’ve come to realize that I don’t really need that many options and also that most of my choices are, like the menu at a retirement home, already made for me.  I like to think that I had my choice of spouses as I aged when, in reality, I was just blind squirrel lucky that I found the one person in the world that would put up with me.  I also like roses and I have about 40 scattered decoratively around my house and while I planted all of them, I’m not sure I chose that many of them.  Since their purposes seem to be limited to looking pretty and stabbing me in the thigh as I walk by, I certainly don’t need to choose any of the 6500 varieties I don’t have.  And Baskin & Robbins has touted its 31 flavors for nearly 60 years but in the last 50 or so, I’ve tried about 5 so don’t try to push the mint chocolate chip on me.  I know what I like and that’s what I have.  And if I go to a themed or ethnic restaurant, I pretty much know what my choices are and I don’t need a menu the size of Atlas Shrugged to know what they have.  By the same token, I’ve chosen to go to that restaurant knowing what they serve so I also don’t need the section of the menu at every ethnic restaurant that essentially says, “We don’t know why you’re here if you don’t like our food but the cheeseburger is $10.95.”  Your choices and options for some things are more quickly out of your control than others.  In my youth I made a conscious choice to have children.  That choice, alternately enjoyable and regrettable, led me to believe I could actually make choices for my children.  That choice evaporates faster than a dollar in Vegas so when your daughter reaches the age of 7 and decides it’s time to start wearing a thong, you can pull all the “my house, my rules” crap you want but your options have all but disappeared.  I’m just happy if she wears jeans over it.  Now, with regard to retail, restaurants and presidential candidates, I’m still bright enough to realize they are trying to appeal to the vast majority and offering a multitude of options is a tried and true marketing strategy.  But if you’re turning 50 or older you already know that since you were born, the majority has been right what?…like twice.  In November we’re faced with another choice.  We get to choose between 2 people who actually think they know what’s best for 290 million people.  We don’t get to see egos of that size every day.  And once again the majority will probably be wrong.  I’m afraid when I get to the ballot box, I’m just going to say, “I can’t choose…just give me the cheeseburger.”

It’s not really that different in business.  Like a few quality promotional product suppliers, IMC has a variety of options in traditional and unusual promotional product categories.  These are complemented with decorations that will showcase and enhance your end-user’s event.  IMC will take your order letting you know your choices and deliver it on time, and on budget.  IMC treats every order with a practiced professionalism so the things that happen will be what you expect from a trusted supplier.  And we continue to expand our options with more product in the IMC Collections and domestic and international brands to better supply you with what you and your clients need.  And IMC continues our industry-leading practice of bringing new retail brands to the promotional products industry and will continue that practice in 2013.  Since introducing Waterford® Writing Instruments and MoMA years ago, IMC has presented menus of some 30 retail brands from global suppliers to enhance the options you can offer your clients.  These include world renowned designers like Nina Ricci and the unique offerings from Umbra and Kikkerland.  We invite you to browse any of our 2,400+ products to see items suitable for any occasion or event and pieces you can use to personalize your relationship with your clients.  We have promotional products for conventions, events, corporate stores and company programs that will keep your client looking to you for new ideas.  And we’re always happy to offer ideas and provide case histories.  So whatever your cause, event or launch, IMC has ideas and advice that will promote and support your client’s event.  With 6 IMC collections and 30 retail brands, we have unique and quality products for all occasions and events.  What do you think?  Let us know with a comment here or on Facebook or Twitter.  IMC wants to know what options you like.

About IMC

IMC is a prime manufacturer and supplier of products to the promotional products industry. We sell only to qualified promotional products distributors. ASI supplier, PPAI supplier. Our lines include our own IMC lines and 26 branded lines.
This entry was posted in Promotional Products. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

