No Vegetable Before Its Time…

Donn James

It may come as no surprise that I have another issue with restaurants.  Last week as I was proposing my new No Shirt, No Shoes, Have Kids?, No Service policy, I started thinking about food and I got hungry.  Well, I’m beginning to be concerned with the burgeoning trend toward baby vegetables.  I mean, shouldn’t the veggies match the entree   If I’m eating a rib-eye the size of a hubcap, I don’t want to be chasing baby peas around my plate?  I like vegetables but I want something that’s aged at least as long as my steak.  And it’s not just peas anymore… you’ve got baby beets, baby bok choy (as if regular bok choy wasn’t bad enough), baby carrots, and that damned baby corn that nobody likes.  We just move that out of the way to get to the sweet and sour pork on our plate.  If I go to a place that advertises that their menu items are “corn fed” I know those animals were smart enough not to eat baby corn.  And if I want baby beets I just take a regular beet and cut it in half.  Pretty simple, huh?  So let’s get this straight…they’re charging me more for my meal because they serve baby food?  I think the chefs are just messing with us.  They’re looking out that round window in the kitchen door and giggling as we try and stab what they laughingly call a baby carrot.  This thing is about 4” long so it needs to be cut but since someone has also decided some vegetables should have a crunch; it’s barely cooked so you need some kind of Ginsu knife just to get it into bite-sized pieces.  The other big question is, “Where’s the outrage over baby vegetables?”  PETA is ready to throw paint on me if I order veal but they’re surprisingly mute when it comes to the unnaturally premature harvesting of vegetables.  Regardless, while I’ll eat almost anything that swims, runs or flies, I’m not so callous as to go into a restaurant and order a filet of Bambi, but I’m callous enough to consider that today’s veal is tomorrow’s wiener schnitzel.  And most people know lamb is way better when it’s still lamb and not yet mutton but I think most meats improve with age.  Why not vegetables?  When you plant vegetables it says right on the package, “Mature in 75 days.”  I’ve never seen a package that says, “Immature in 48 hours” so let’s leave them in the ground and let them grow.  Most of the people reading this are members of the human race and have a reasoning power that says for many things, older is better…liquor, wine, beef, movies.   This reasoning power has also given us vegans although I, and the entire Midwest, consider that reasoning flawed.  As a race we have made this meteoric rise to our current spot on the food chain basically because we discovered gunpowder and Yogi Bear didn’t…so, bacon for everyone!

It’s not really that different in business.  Like all quality promotional product suppliers, IMC has a menu of promotional product categories and decorations that will complement your end-user’s event.  IMC will take your order personally and deliver it to your table on time, not prematurely, and on budget.  IMC treats every order with a practiced professionalism so the things that happen will be what you expect from a trusted supplier.  And we continue to expand our menu selections and brands to better supply you with what you and your clients need.  And IMC continues our industry-leading practice of bringing new retail brand menus to the promotional products industry.  Since introducing Waterford® Writing Instruments and MoMA years ago, IMC has presented menus of some 30 retail brands from global suppliers to enhance the selections you can offer your clients.  These include world renowned designers like Wedgwood and the unique offerings from Nanda Home and HighWave.  We invite you to browse any of our 2,400+ products to see items suitable for any occasion or event and pieces you can use to personalize your relationship with your clients.  We have promotional products for conventions, events, corporate stores and company programs that will keep your client looking to you for new ideas.  And we’re always happy to offer ideas and provide case histories.  So whatever your cause, event or launch, IMC has ideas and advice that will promote and support your client’s event.  With 6 IMC collections and 30 retail brands, we have unique and quality products for all occasions and events.  What do you think?  Let us know with a comment here or on Facebook or Twitter.  IMC wants to know if you like baby corn.

About IMC

IMC is a prime manufacturer and supplier of products to the promotional products industry. We sell only to qualified promotional products distributors. ASI supplier, PPAI supplier. Our lines include our own IMC lines and 26 branded lines.
This entry was posted in Business Gifts, Customer Service, Promotional Products, Promotions, Retail Brands, Sales, Waterford Pens. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

