Are We Too Kid-Friendly?

Donn James

In response to the unasked question, I like kids.  Of course, I love my own the most but I like some other kids though probably not as many as most people think.  And I love good restaurants but, like chocolate syrup and tuna, I rarely enjoy them together.  What I don’t like are parents who let their kids treat a decent restaurant as their local Gymboree.  And while I may want to smack the kids, the parents are generally to blame.  C’mon, spring for a babysitter.  My essential feeling is if the restaurant doesn’t have golden arches, I don’t expect to see kids running around.  Now, my kids have aged and while chronologically they’re considered adults, I’ve discovered all that means is that they still cost me money but they can drink while they’re doing it.  And though many know I like to cook, I still dine out often.  Hey, it’s convenient and the clean-up is a breeze.  And I’m a pretty easy customer because I take things the way the chef prepares them.  I realize he builds a menu for a reason so I don’t ask for the “daily special” and then try and change everything about it so it bears no resemblance to his “daily special.”  I also know what to expect at any given restaurant.  If my waitress is named Flo, I expect to get bacon with everything I order but I don’t go to Simply Vegan and get mad because I can’t get a lamb kabob.
But back to the offspring issue.  I’ve discovered through years of research and rib-eyes that there are essentially three age ranges which should be banned from any restaurant where you don’t give your order to somebody wearing a paper hat or a hair net.  The first is almost pre-teen.  This group can’t believe you’ve brought them to a place that doesn’t have crayons and since their diet mainly consists of Snickers and Red Bull, expecting them to sit still for a couple of hours is tantamount to expecting the Pope to be honored with a star on Hollywood Boulevard.  And the last thing I want to hear from parents is, “they’re just expressing their independence” because my response is, “they can be independent when they start picking up the check.”  The second group is the post-toddlers.  A post-toddler can be recognized by the finger in his nose as he crawls under your table looking for the Hot Wheel that got away.  Here’s a thought…if the restaurant is not named Outback Steakhouse & Day Care, keep your kids at your table.  Now, I’m not advocating a leash law but neither would I strenuously oppose it.  The last and most insidious category is the toddler.  Why do some parents think a restaurant is the place to teach their daughter to walk?  In the first place, she only wants to stand because she’s packing about 4 pounds of mashed vegetables in her diaper and she’s beginning to emit an odor that would knock a fly off a garbage scow, and you’re parading her through the restaurant when you should be lugging her to the diaper bag in your car.  In case you hadn’t noticed, the rest of us are trying to eat.  It’s also not the place to let her practice pushing her own stroller through the rows and tables like a rat in a maze.  I endorse the signage that states, No Shirt, No Shoes, No Service.  I’m just saying there’s room for another line and you can guess what that is.

It’s not really that different in business.  Like all quality promotional product suppliers, IMC has a menu of promotional product categories and decorations that will satisfy your end-users.  IMC will take your order personally and deliver it to your table on time and on budget.  IMC treats every order with a practiced professionalism so the things that happen will be what you expect from a trusted supplier.  And we continue to expand our menu selections and brands to better supply you with what you and your clients need.  And IMC continues our industry-leading practice of bringing new retail brand menus to the promotional products industry.  Since introducing Waterford® Writing Instruments and MoMA years ago, IMC has presented menus of some 30 retail brands from global suppliers to enhance the selections you can offer your clients.  These include world renowned designers like Visconti and the unique offerings from Treasure It and Luigi Bormioli.  We invite you to browse any of our 2,400+ products to see items suitable for any occasion or event and pieces you can use to personalize your relationship with your clients.  We have promotional products for conventions, events, corporate stores and company programs that will keep your client looking to you for new ideas.  And we’re always happy to offer ideas and provide case histories.  So whatever your cause, event or launch, IMC has ideas and advice that will promote and support your client’s event.  With 6 IMC collections and 30 retail brands, we have unique and quality products for all occasions and events.  What do you think?  Let us know with a comment here or on Facebook or Twitter.  IMC wants to know if you’re kid-friendly.

About IMC

IMC is a prime manufacturer and supplier of products to the promotional products industry. We sell only to qualified promotional products distributors. ASI supplier, PPAI supplier. Our lines include our own IMC lines and 26 branded lines.
This entry was posted in Business Gifts, Customer Service, Promotional Products, Promotions, Retail Brands, Sales, Waterford Pens. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

