Is That Left Over or a Leftover?

Donn James

In the misguided belief that bringing my lunch occasionally would help me eat healthier, well, I occasionally bring my lunch.  So, I just finished 2 beef ribs the size of boomerangs, enough macaroni and cheese to caulk the tile in my bathroom and sweet potato fries…because they’re healthier than regular potatoes.  Just point me to the scale so I can see how much weight I’ve lost.  Never mind that I just consumed around 13,000 calories and, oh yeah, what’s the medical community call beef ribs?  That’s right…heart attack on a stick.  Now I’m clogged up and bound up so maybe foraging around in my fridge is not particularly heart-healthy for me but I have learned, through experimenting, that certain foods mix reasonably well.  We all know celery works well with peanut butter, cream cheese, cheese whiz, any cheese by the way, but did you know it also adds a little texture if you dip it into gravy or cranberry sauce.  Just a little holiday leftover tip for you.  Not surprisingly, during my fridge foray I will often come upon a vegetable because we don’t like to throw them out even though no one ever eats leftover vegetables and since everyone has a cupboard dedicated to Tupperware, we generally save them just to throw them away a week later.  I have since learned a Brussels sprout is almost digestible if you wrap it in bacon.  If you think about it, all recipes began with a guess or at least a hope and a prayer.  When two cavemen found mushrooms years ago, one would be fine sautéing them with saber-toothed tiger and the other would be in convulsions because his were less than edible.  It was all about trial and error but these missteps led to some of the great recipes we have today like steak au poivre and deep-fried Twinkies.  So why should leftovers be any different.  You may see pickles and caramel sauce but I see dessert.

It’s not really that different in business.  You are always asked to find something new and different and you should stop offering your customers leftovers.  IMC has 31 retail brands, including 8 that will debut in January that offer unique and unusual new products to the promotional products industry.  Take a look at our new clocks from Nanda Home or the new umbrellas from Blunt.  And we’re always happy to offer ideas, provide case histories and give you ideas of what and how to promote our products.  What do you think?  Let us know with a comment here or on Facebook or TwitterIMC wants to hear from you.

About IMC

IMC is a prime manufacturer and supplier of products to the promotional products industry. We sell only to qualified promotional products distributors. ASI supplier, PPAI supplier. Our lines include our own IMC lines and 26 branded lines.
This entry was posted in Business Gifts, Customer Service, Promotional Products, Promotions, Retail Brands, Sales. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

