Smart and Dumber

Donn James

So, as gas prices rise I’m seeing more and more Smart Cars on the roads here in southern California and I’m thinking, “That’s really dumb.”  I know somebody has to be the bellwether of ecology but in a land where every other car is a limo, Hummer or Escalade, tooling around our freeways at 75 in a Tonka Toy may be an example of misplaced ideology.  I mean, Wilbur and Orville were about 8 feet off the ground traveling about the speed of smell and would have escaped with field rash and a bruise but if your not-so-Smart Car takes on an 18-wheeler, there won’t be enough left to fill my carry-on bag.  How about this for a rule:  if you won’t let your Chihuahua loose in the big dog section of the dog park, keep your grocery cart off my freeway.  I’ve long believed that, as Californians, we are doing our very best to vacillate between saving and destroying the planet at the same time.  How else can you explain the fact that I have to check every piece of trash I have for the elusive recycle stamp to ensure it goes into the correct container or I get my hand slapped by the garbage police but if I were able to carry a fetus, I could use the carpool lane?  I suppose being first involves some inherent risks but I wouldn’t have been the guy that looked at an oyster and said, “That looks like food, let’s eat it.”  I will take risks but from a more cautious stance.  For example, I will dive into the lake from almost any height but only after I’ve checked to make sure I’m not going to land on a submarine 4 feet below the surface.  So, I’m ready to go electric but I’ll opt for something larger than a bumper car at the fair just to have a fighting chance.

It’s not really that different in business.  You want to be first with new products and services whenever you can.  IMC was among the first to bring retail brands to the promotional product industry with Waterford and MoMA more than 10 years ago, and for 2012 we continue to add unique, exclusive brands for your client promotions as we increase our retail brand selection to more than 25 lines.  To get a sneak peek for 2012 look to Blunt for fine umbrellas or Nanda Home for unusual clocks.  And we’re always happy to offer ideas and provide case histories to give you ideas of what and how to promote our products.  What do you think?  Let us know with a comment here or on Facebook or TwitterIMC wants to hear from you.

About IMC

IMC is a prime manufacturer and supplier of products to the promotional products industry. We sell only to qualified promotional products distributors. ASI supplier, PPAI supplier. Our lines include our own IMC lines and 26 branded lines.
This entry was posted in Business Gifts, Customer Service, Promotional Products, Promotions, Retail Brands, Sales. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

