Is Everybody Nuts?

Well, I believe it is official now and the inmates are running the asylum.  A local

Donn James

school district is trying to ban the ingestion, transport, stock or deliverance of peanut products at its schools on the off chance that a child will drop into anaphylactic shock if he opens his history book to a picture of George Washington Carver, or some kid three tables down in the cafeteria starts ripping into his PBJ.  If you’re that allergic to something, don’t leave home without your Benadryl and an epi-pen and leave the rest of us alone.  The letter asked children not to come to school with peanut-tainted apparel or food products.  First, a peanut is among the purest of food forms and to taint it you’d have to shell it and dip it into used transmission fluid and second, my children shouldn’t have to walk into a decontamination room to remove the clothes they wore to the Dodger game.  I’m trained in first aid so I’m going to start using a Payday bar as deodorant just to see if I can get a kid to have a seizure and drop at my feet.  If not, peanuts are back in.  I have a friend who is allergic to alcohol.  Now, while most of you are recoiling in horror, he’s OK with it and assumes he’s only alive because he doesn’t drink.  He’s not using his car to force Budweiser trucks over the cliffs above Malibu.  I, myself, have developed an adult allergy to shrimp.  My solution:  I DON’T EAT SHRIMP.  I’m not traversing the country blowing up Red Lobsters.  The balance between catering to the individual and to the masses has become a little skewed.  When my son, whose love of reading ends on the side of the Cheerios’ box, came home with Catcher in the Rye I didn’t send a note back saying, “I’m sorry but he’s allergic to Salinger.”

As a supplier or distributor I implore you to cater to every client but you must have some standards that apply to everyone.  From there your choice to offer some perk or benefit should be solely based on your relationship with that distributor or client.  And you should take care to make it personal and keep it personal or you’ll have everyone asking for it.  What do you think?  IMC wants to hear it.  Leave a comment here or on Facebook or Twitter.

About IMC

IMC is a prime manufacturer and supplier of products to the promotional products industry. We sell only to qualified promotional products distributors. ASI supplier, PPAI supplier. Our lines include our own IMC lines and 26 branded lines.
This entry was posted in Business Gifts, Customer Service, Promotional Products, Promotions, Sales. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

