Just get a New Dog

In the not too distant past, I was rambling on about how to say no and have since realized the truth of

Donn James

the adage, “Those who can’t do…Teach.”  As a father, I long ago gave up the expectation that any of my “No’s” would fall on anything but deaf ears.  So, you won’t be surprised to learn I just paid $2800 to fix a $200 dog.  If it was a car I would have taken it to the beach, rolled down the windows, left the keys and walked away.  The alternative would have involved gasoline and a match.  Apparently, there are those of you that frown on that tact with pets.  Anyway, unbeknownst to me, dogs can get gallstones and after removing enough of them to make a small necklace, one of my rescue dogs is well.  And is the term rescue a misnomer?  After all, it’s not like I’m rescuing them from a ‘fate worse than death’…I am, in fact, rescuing them from death and I have to pay to do it.   When I rescued that baby from the burning building or returned that bag of cash I found or helped the old lady across the street…hey I could have done those things.  My point is, after I did those heroic deeds nobody said, “Thank you, that’ll be $200.”  You may think that’s the worst part but it’s not.  The dog is about the price of a key chain but by the time you add de-worm, de-flea, de-sex, shots, license, registration and tax it is $200.  It’s like these “rescue” places have turned into a service industry. 

See...Still Alive

As an example, I meet my carpet cleaners at the door and tell them I don’t want to hear about scotchgarding, high-traffic areas, pet-proofing, color match; just do the best job you can for the price quoted…and don’t steal anything.  I’ll love the dog and feed it and give it a good home but don’t beat me up with ancillary charges.  The point here for suppliers and distributors is your clients want a bottom line.  Where money or time is involved, nobody likes surprises.  I have a friend outside the industry who spent $1100 on blankets with a distributor and was surprised with a $900 bill for shipping.  SURPRISE!   Thankfully, he’s eating solid foods again.  What’s your least favorite up-charge?  IMC wants to know.  We might not waive it but we’ll tell you about it.

About IMC

IMC is a prime manufacturer and supplier of products to the promotional products industry. We sell only to qualified promotional products distributors. ASI supplier, PPAI supplier. Our lines include our own IMC lines and 26 branded lines.
This entry was posted in Customer Service, Promotional Products, Sales. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just get a New Dog

  1. Great post, I think that theory also apllies to kids, and the many activities and cost that come with them… Through you love them they always pack a surprise with an unexpected dollar amount.

  2. Jeanne S says:

    IMC = IT MAKES CENTS! (SENSE) IMC has great gifts for brand building/ customer loyalty. Jeanne S.

Leave a Reply

